Sonar Kollektiv Orchester

jazzy downtempo // remixed minimal

Sonar Kollectiv is the label-home of about a dozen of Aurgasm’s features. Their roster consistently churns out top-notch rhythm and jazz. Recently an ensemble of fifteen musicians got together to cover some of the label’s catalog. The result, Guaranteed Niceness, is like the MTV Unplugged of the jazz & downtempo world, turning comprehensive arrangements into organic jazz jams. Âme’s minimal techno epic, “Rej” lent itself perfectly to a re-imagining by the group.

Thick and epic. From synth to string.
Âme – Rej (Sonar Kollektiv Orchester cover)
+ Purchase/Visit

6 Responses to “Sonar Kollektiv Orchester”

  1. John Book :

    This was one of my favorite albums of 2008, and would have been on top of my Best Of list if it wasn’t for Jazzanova, and Kylie Auldist. I was floored when Ifirst heard this album, and I’m still blown away by its greatness.

  2. Paul Irish :

    I hear ya. It’s a really solid piece of work. Thanks for dropping a line. Cheers.

  3. courvidae :

    This is one of the best songs posted since the site revamp. I can’t get enough of the string melody at the outset, and it melts me when it comes back again later in the song. Great pic!

  4. Robert Halvarsson :

    Epic… I must get this album. :)

  5. Michal :

    Really cool, though the name of the group is spelled Kollektiv.

  6. salima :

    outstanding. really inspirational… am cross posting this! thank you Paul.